A Month of Lessons Under $12 – Lets Organize

Ahh! SO EXCITING! There is less than 2 weeks until we start our first day of preschool! Nothing makes it more real than purchasing a few supplies. I took my little boy shopping yesterday for preschool supplies and then started organizing them. Here is exactly what I bought and how I’ve put it together.

Dollar Tree in Idaho Falls, ID – 17th street

School Box Large (3) – $3.00

Sports Hair Gel – $1.00

Craft stick 100ct – $1.00

Construction Paper (2) – $2.00

Apron – $1.00

Tongs – $1.00

Manila File Folders – $1.00

TOTAL: $10.00

Walmart in Idaho Falls

Flyswatter – $0.74

Poms – $0.74

TOTAL – $1.48

GRAND TOTAL FOR ALL SUPPLIES: $11.48

All other supplies were things I already had around my house and many of the supplies I bought I plan to use for multiple activities. The apron can be used every time we do a craft, tongs are great to continue using to help scissor skills and we always can find a use for Popsicle craft sticks and construction paper… etc.

Now DON’T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID! I first went to the dollar store to see what they had thinking that I would pick up everything I could there and then what I couldn’t I would then pick up at Walmart. Well there were a few items I had bought at the dollar store that were cheaper at Walmart. Namely School boxes, a large at Walmart costs only $0.97 or you could purchase a small that does just as well for $0.49. It’s only pennies but pennies add up. 🙂

This month I did not buy butcher paper but I do plan to buy it from Amazon next month. This month I figured I could just tape sheets of computer paper together. Like this.

I will be using this for the name game that is planned for the 3rd week.
I will be using this for the name game that is planned for the 3rd week.

ORGANIZING

Dresser
My Organizing System Starts Here

I told you previously that I had planned to put each week in a box well the other day I looked that this old dresser and thought I could make it work to organize preschool supplies so that is exactly what I have done. I’m all about using what you’ve got. Though I know most people will not have an old dresser hanging around so go ahead and use, baskets, storage bins…. the system will work the same.

I labeled each drawer with a week number. Week 1, Week 2, Week 3 and Week 4. Then on the left of each drawer I labeled it Tuesday and on the right Thursday. To do the labels I simply used masking tape and a permanent marker.

1st label week number. Then label the left side Tuesday and the right side Thursday.
1st label week number. Then label the left side Tuesday and the right side Thursday.

Then with my lesson plans in my hand I went around my house collecting the items I would need for each day and placed them in their coordinating spot so the day of they are easy to grab and there is no stress involved.

Week 1 drawer- Colors. Left side Tuesday activities. On the Right Thursday Activities.
Week 1 drawer- Colors. Left side Tuesday activities. On the Right Thursday Activities.

When the activity is complete I will put all the extras in a manila folder titled with the theme in my filing cabinet. I know I will often have extras because I have made a few copies of each activity in case there is a day here and there that my boy would like to have a friend over to participate with him. I also want to do this because I know friend time will become a little more challenging as the weather begins to get colder and his friends aren’t just outside playing. AND then the activities are reusable for next year OR for a rainy day that they need a little more entertaining.

After a lesson is complete all the extras will be filed here either to be used next year or on a day that the littles need a little extra entertainment.
After a lesson is complete all the extras will be filed here either to be used next year or on a day that the littles need a little extra entertainment.

There you have it. A months worth of preschool lessons planned out and organized for only $12 – actually less because many of the supplies you only use pieces of. 🙂 Let me see how you are all coming!! Post pictures!!!

Leave a comment